The Best Blog for SSC CGL, Banking, UPSC and other competitive exams.

Friday, 19 June 2015

British Governor Generals in India

Knowledge philic presents....


British Governor Generals in India

British Governor Generals/Viceroys

Governor General/Viceroy
Points to remember
Warren Hastings
1774 - 1785
First Governor General in India. (He was the appointed as the Governor General of Fort William, but he exercised control over East India Company officials all over India.) He was impeached in England for his wrong-doings, namely The Rohilla War, Trial and execution of Nand Kumar, Case of Raja Chait Singh and Begums of Oudh.
Lord Cornwallis
1786 - 1793
Permanent Settlement, an agreement between the East India Company and Bengali landlords to fix revenues to be raised from land was introduced during his period.
Lord Wellesley
1798 - 1825
He introduced the Subsidiary Alliance, under which the Indian ruler agreed to keep British forces in his territory. The first state to accept the Subsidiary Alliance was the State of Hyderabad.
Lord William Bentick
1828 - 1835
First to be designated as the Governor General of India in 1828. He outlawed the practice of Sati and also introduced English education in India.
Lord Dalhousie
1848 - 1856
He introduced the infamous 'Doctrine of Lapse'. He also brought Railways and Telegraph to India. He is also known as the maker of modern India.
Lord Canning
1856 - 1862
He was the Governor General during the mutiny of 1857. He was appointed the first Viceroy after the war.
Lord Mayo
1869 - 1872
He was the Viceroy of India, who was killed by a convict in the Andaman Islands. The first census of India was conducted which did not however include some territories in India.
Lord Lytton
1876 - 1880
The Delhi durbar or the Imperial Durbar in which Queen Victoria was proclaimed Kaisar-i-Hind was held during his period on 01 Jan 1877.
Lord Rippon
1880 - 1884
He introduced the dual system of governance. The first complete and synchronous census of British Territories in India was conducted in 1881 during his period. He was also associated with Ilbert Bill which sought to allow Indian judges to try British offenders. He is hailed as the Father of Local Self Government in India.
Lord Dufferin
1884 - 1888
The Indian National Congress was formed during his period.
Lord Curzon
1899 - 1905
Partition of Bengal and launch of Swadeshi Movement.
Lord Hardinge
1910 - 1916
The Capital of India was shifted from Calcutta to Delhi during his tenure in 1911. George V, the King of England visited India to attend the Delhi durbar in 1911. An assassination attempt was made on his life by Rash Bihari Bose and others.
Lord Chelmsford
1916 - 1921
The Jallianwala Bagh tragedy of 1919 occured during his period. Montague Chelmsford reforms, Rowlatt Act, Khilafat movement are other events associated with his period.
Lord Reading
1921 - 1926
Chauri Chaura incident occurred during his period. Mahatma Gandhi was imprisoned for the first time in India.
Lord Irwin
1926 - 1931
His period is associated with First Round Table Conference, Simon Commission, Gandhi Irwin pact and the famous Dandi March.
Lord Willingdon
1931 - 1936
Second and Third Round Table Conferences were held during his period. Communal award was given by British PM Ramsay Macdonald and the Poona Pact between Mahatma Gandhi and Dr. Ambedkar was signed during his period.
Lord Linlithgow
1936 - 1943
Cripps Mission visited India and the Quit India resolution was passed during his tenure.
Lord Wavell
1943 - 1947
Simla conference and Cabinet mission are associated with his period.

Important dates during British rule in India

First war of Indian independence also called the Sepoy Mutiny by the British.
Formation of Indian National Congress.
Partition of Bengal, Swadeshi Movement
Minto Morley reforms
Shifting of capital from Calcutta to Delhi.
Government of India Act, 1919, Rowlatt Act, Jallianwala Bagh tragedy.
Khilafat movement.
Chauri Chaura outrage in UP.
Visit of Simon Commission to India, Death of Lala Lajpat Rai
Resolution of complete independence at Lahore session of Indian National Congress.
Dandi March, Launch of the Civil Disobedience Movement.
Gandhi Irwin pact, execution of Bhagat Singh, Sukhdev and Rajguru
Government of India Act
Quit India movement, Formation of Azad Hind Fauz.
Visit of Cripps Commission to India.
British Cabinet mission visited India.