The Best Blog for SSC CGL, Banking, UPSC and other competitive exams.

Thursday, 25 June 2015

Sports News : May 2015

Knowledge philic presents....

Sports News : May 2015

1.Union Sports Ministry recognised Motor Sports as a Sports under NSF

2.Railways won the 5th Hockey India Senior Women National Championship 2015

3.Chelsea won Barclays Premier League 2014-15 title with 1-0 win over Crystal Palace

4.Sandeep Jajodia removed as the president of Boxing India (BI)

5.Roger Federer won the inaugural Istanbul Open Tennis Men’s Singles Title

6.Floyd Mayweather Jr. defeated Manny Pacquiao to win Fight of the Century of Boxing

7.Indian Army emerged champions in 19th Federation Cup National Athletic Championships

8.Rohan Bopanna, Florin Mergea won Men’s Doubles title of Madrid Tennis Open

9.Petra Kvitova of Czech Republic won the women’s singles title of Madrid Tennis Open

10.Andy Murray of Britain won the men’s singles title of Madrid Tennis Open

11.Mercedes driver Nico Rosberg of Germany won Spanish Grand Prix of Formula One

12.Discus thrower Vikas Gowda won Gold at Jamaican International Invitation meet

13.Lee Alan Johnson named Head Coach of U-19 football team of India

14.Gagan Narang Won Bronze in 50m Rifle Prone Men Event at ISSF Rifle/Pistol World Cup in Fort Benning

15.Novak Djokovic won 4th Rome Masters Tennis title

16.Brad Haddin, the Australia wicketkeeper retired from ODI cricket

17.Maria Sharapova of Russia won the women’s single of Italian Tennis Open for third time

18.Joe Root and Charlotte Edwards named England cricketers of the year 2014-15

19.British magazine SportsPro released World’s 50 Most Marketable 2015 report

According to SportsPro's listing of the top 50 most marketable athletes in the world for 2015, Eugenie Bouchard, Tennis player from Canada, topped the list.
20.Shuttler Saina Nehwal of India ranked No.1 in single rankings released by BWF

21.Mumbai Indians won IPL 2015 title by defeating Chennai Super kings

22.Mercedes driver Nico Rosberg of Germany won Monaco Grand Prix of Formula One

23.BCCI recommended Contract system for Indian women cricket team

24.Indian boxers won three Gold at World Junior Women's boxing Championship

Savita (50kg), Mandeep Sandhu (52kg) and Sakshi (54kg) struck gold for the country, while Soniya (48kg) and Niharika Gonella (70kg) settled for silver medals.
25.Indian boxer won four Gold Medals at Doha International Boxing tournament 2015

Commonwealth Games silver medallist L Devendro Singh (49kg), Shiva Thapa (56kg), Manish Kaushik (60kg), and Manoj Kumar (64kg) won the gold medals
26.Kumar Sangakkara named CEAT International Cricketer of the Year 2015

27.CS Santosh presented with 2014 FMSCI Motorsport Man of the Year Award

28.Abhinav Bindra became 4th Indian shooter to qualify for 2016 Rio Olympics

Bindra became the fourth Indian shooter to win a quota place for the Rio Olympics and the other three in the list are Gagan Narang, Jitu Rai and Apurvi Chandela.
29.Sevilla FC won Europa League title

30.Sepp Blatter re-elected as FIFA President